10. Understanding colour

For this exercise we were asked to produce two grids of colour . One containing colours we like  – the other for some we weren’t so keen on. I must admit I found it hard to find colours I dislike but managed to produce a grid. In doing this exercise I decided to pick some colours from images and palettes that I like. I think the thing about colour with me is sometimes the context that its used in and what other colours are placed along with it. understanding colour

I then read onto the next part of the exercise which asked to put the grids side by side and ask ourselves what one we prefer. The text suggested we were likely to pick the coloured grid we dislike as we tend to pick bright colours we like and when placed side by side they can look garish and conversely we tend to pick subtler colours we dislike which work better together. I think because I went for colours that I like that were part of overall colour palettes that I like, I actually thought that I preferred the liked grid.

I moved on to the next part of the assignment experimenting with placing colours together to illustrate different ideas. I found some ideas harder than others! Things like youthful conjured up bright and light colours whereas words like reasonable I thought would be more sensible and so I chose muted darker colours.

colour associationsx

Colour combinations to illustrate ideas

I am beginning to look at colour palettes and combinations that I like. I’ve collected some examples in my sketchbook as part of my visual diary that have strong connotations and create high contrast and are visually appropriate and appealing.

High contrast between the blue and the gold beer advert. Colour associations of sweet wrappers

High contrast between the blue and the gold beer advert. Colour associations of sweet wrappers

Fruity high colour contrasts - yellow , red and purple . Really like the fruit images as the backdrop and on the jars

Fruity high colour contrasts – yellow , red and purple . Really like the fruit images as the backdrop and on the jars

Again red and black high contrast - sexy, intense

Again red and black high contrast – sexy, intense

Red and black high contrast suggests passion, danger, glamour

Red and black high contrast suggests passion, danger, glamour

The red stands out against the cooler blues and yellow

The red stands out against the cooler blues and yellow

Leave a Reply

